WINGLESS: Polish Death/Doom Metal Band To Release Desolate Fifth Album, Ascension, Through Selfmadegod Records April 26th; "Majesty" Now Streaming + Preorders Posted

Stream WINGLESS’ "Majesty" HERE.


Selfmadegod Records will release Ascension, the desolate fifth album from Polish death/doom metal outfit WINGLESS, on April 26th, today revealing the record’s cover art, track listing, preorders, and first single, “Majesty.”

Krakow-based WINGLESS was formed at the beginning of 2012 by a lineup of well-experienced musicians who have performed or are still performing with some other groups being part of the local metal scene. Having been led by guitarist/bassist Grzegorz Luzar since its formation, drummer Piotr Wójcik joined in 2018, and in 2021, longstanding vocalist Olaf Różański was replaced by Michał “Xaay” Loranc (Redemptor). The lineup also expands to include bassist Pascal for live performances.

WINGLESS has created five full-length releases over the past decade, including three independent albums – Hatred Is Purity (2014), The Blaze Within (2016), and Triada (2018) – before releasing their 2021 album Nonconform on Selfmadegod Records, who also now delivers Ascension.

While at an early stage of development, the band’s music oscillated more around the cutting edge of modern metal, with the passage of time, their compositional style has gradually shifted towards classic death and doom metal, which is boldly apparent within the first moments of their new album, Ascension. WINGLESS is an ensemble perfectly aware of what and how they want to play, by consistently following their idea of creating death/doom metal, without even avoiding inspirations from metal artists of the 1980s and ’90s. Ascension delivers a conglomerate of heaviness, darkness, and an unique atmosphere particularly clearly reflected in the lyrics.

Ascension was recorded between June and November 2023 at Studio67 produced by Grzegorz Luzar, mixed and mastered by Dominik Burzym at Studio67, and completed with cover artwork by Rafał Wechterowicz and layout by Michał “Xaay" Loranc.

"Majesty” is the first single to arrive from Ascension, Luzar writing of the song, “‘Majesty’ is a track that perfectly represents the direction in which the band is currently supplying. The combination of death metal heaviness and catchiness straight from the best productions of the genre from the ’90s has an electrifying effect. The middle part of the song, which is a perfect marriage of blastbeats and Norwegian melodies, perfectly completes the picture of this powerful track. In front of such grandiose Majesty no one should remain indifferent…”


Listen to WINGLESS’ “Majesty” now via YouTube HERE and Bandcamp HERE.

WINGLESS’ Ascension will be released on CD and digital platforms on Selfmadegod Records April 26th. Find preorders at the Selfmadegod label webshop HERE and Bandcamp HERE.


Ascension Track Listing:

1. The Ascension (After The Light)

2. Majesty

3. The Soul Raiser

4. From There It's Always Dark

5. Stronger Than Death

6. As Long As Others Die

7. Only The Graves Will Remain

8. Empty Eyes, There Is No Soul

9. Into The Unknown


WINGLESS is not shy to admit that playing live is an essential part of their existence. This group can now be proud of having played many gigs in club and festival venues alike. 2018 saw the band’s consummation of onstage performances in Summer festivals, as WINGLESS was invited to perform a concert as headliner at North-Eastern Open Air in Krnov, Czech Republic and more. The band has shared the stage with Christ Agony, Tortharry, Depresy, Moribund Oblivion, Quo Vadis, Chainsaw, and many more.



Grzegorz Luzar – guitars, bass

Michał "Xaay" Loranc – vocals

Piotr Wójcik – drums

Share this Post in your Social Networks